A colourful NYC Birthday card

Hello, thank you for taking a moment to stop by. For today’s card I wanted to create a card as bright and cheerful as the recipient. 

I started out by running temporary adhesive behind the negative piece that was die cut from the MFT NYC skyline and adhering it in place on some Tim Holtz watercolour cardstock

Once in place I used distress ink to colour in the image. Lots of blending created a somewhat seamless blend, then added water drops to pick up some colour.

Next up I took a glossy texture paste and coated the entire panel. I knew it wouldn’t be completely smooth, but I wanted it to be super shiney. I also used a sprinkling of fine glitter dust to enhance the shine. 

Once it dried, that’s when it just shone and I was so pleased! At this point it was missing not only the sentiment, but something to create a frame and bring it more into focus. 

So I did just that, I first die cut a frame from white cardstock, but it didn’t look right. Luckily I have copious amounts of my trusty Fog cardstock from Simon Says Stamp on hand and once the frame was cut it worked perfectly. 

I chose a MFT sentiment that was more general than the traditional “happy birthday’ as the recipient is a lover of world travel. 

A few of my favorite clear moonshine sequins from Simon Says Stamp finish up this card. 

Happy crafting! 

Niki.

2 thoughts on “A colourful NYC Birthday card

Leave a Reply

