Birthday Bears 

Hello, I wanted to share the card I created for my son’s 5th birthday.

 As soon as I saw the Beary Special Birthday set from MFT Stamps I knew it was the one I needed to use for the sweet little guy in my life. 
I started off by stamping and masking off as needed to create the scene. Masking is fussy and fiddly work, but it’s such a great effect, especially as I’m on such a one layer card roll at the moment. 

Next up I took Distress Ink and blended the trio of colours til somewhat smooth, spritz water over the top and left to dry. I did leave the masks on whilst I dropped water on the card, that can certainly be a bit hit and miss, but since I was planning on watercolouring, I knew I could lift any little accidents. 

Once the card was completely dry, I took the Ranger paint dabber in black tie and used a splatter brush to splatter black on the entire piece. I’m loving this effect at the moment.  


I held my breath, then removed the masks and yay! Perfect. 

Watercolouring the images was so enjoyable, they are so very cute. Once dry I took a large circle (in this case a circle die that was in arms reach) to draw in a banner sting as I wanted to “hang”  my son’s name with the new banners also from MFT Dienamics.

I finished up the card with lots of sparkle from the Spectrum Noir clear shimmer and glossy accents.

I used white embossing powder from Ranger to emboss the sentiment. 

I’m super excited to give this card to my little guy. How he is suddenly 5 I’ll never understand, but I’m in awe of him. 

Thanks for stopping by and happy crafting. 

Niki x 

4 thoughts on “Birthday Bears 

  1. You are so right about masking, it can be so fiddly, but when you take those masks off, it’s so worth it! I love seeing the results. I’m also loving these black splatters too – they give it extra dimension. Happy Birthday to your little boy. It is scary to think how old they suddenly become! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

