Somewhat no line colouring

image

Hello, thank you for taking the time to hop over to my blog.

Something I’m not very good at is no line watercolouring. Oh, I try, I really try, but it never looks how I imagine it will.
I think it’s a combination of my lack of free hand artistry and my love of crisp bold images.

But I persist and this time around I documented my stages below in photos, so please feel free to leave a comment with tips and opinions. I also have called this “somewhat no line colouring” as the line, stamped with Antique Linen distress ink, is clearly still visible. One step at a time!

image

I used Tim Holtz watercolour paper and distress ink to stamp with. I chose the Lotus stamp set from Waffle Flower Stamps as its just so darling and has large areas to colour in.

image

image

At this stage (above) I felt the lotus leaves were to green and after this was confirmed by my husband, I added clean water to the area, allowed it to sit for a minute and blotted it with a paper towel. This did the trick. 

image

Still needing contrast within the leaves I went with yellow, not factually correct, but it works for me!

To finish off I framed the entire panel with liquid platinum embossing powder and did a free hand black boarder within the flower and leaves.
Pretty Pink Posh clear sequins add the final touch.

image

Hope you like the card and happy crafting to you!

Cheers!

Niki.

One thought on “Somewhat no line colouring

  1. I think it’s beautifully done. I need tonnes more practice with no line colouring. I struggle without strong lines. I love the colours on the leaves and the yellow really does give it a nice contrast, without being garish. I think you’re completely on the right track, and even if we can see the lines, they are not harsh, but they do give it some definition. Keep going!! Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

