Tweet Tweet For You.

image

Hello and welcome,

After being away on holidays for a couple of weeks, coming home with mounds of unpacking and cleaning, I’ve been feeling creatively flat. 

Today I finally wondered into my craft room and decided I was going to use my favourite Distress Ink combination and the Scalloped Banner Die from Avery Elle.
So that’s where I started. 

image

Using Mermaid Lagoon, Cracked Pistachio and Twisted Citron Distress Ink, I blended the colours on to the edges of the Avery Elle Scalloped Banner Die die cut from Neenah Solar White 110LB.

Once it was blended smoothly I used a water spritzer to mist over some water. I absolutely love the effect.

image

I selected the Tweet Tweet set from Avery Elle because those birds are super cute and great as a stand alone feature on a card. I initially had thought I would use a vine or a branch but wanted something “cleaner”. When looking for the sentiment (Oh Happy Day by Avery Elle) the arrow was exactly what I was after. 

Using Memento ink in Tuxedo Black I did all my stamping. I use a slim & firm mouse pad under my card stock when I stamp.

image

Next I coloured in the bird with Copic markers (colour combos above in the photo), rubbed away the pencil lines I drew to ensure a straight stamp and darkened up the bird’
s eye with a Copic Multi Liner.

image

At this point I realised I wanted slight dimension so I die cut 2 more Scalloped Banners and taped them together under the coloured banner. 
I die cut a base panel from Neenah card stock with the largest Stitched Rectangle from Lawn Fawn.

Also from Lawn Fawn, the Stitched Border Dies were die cut to give the background some subtle interest.
My favorite clear sequins and beads from Pretty Pink Posh added the final touch.

Thank you for viewing my first ever blog post.  I truly appreciate you stopping by.

Cheers, Niki

image

18 thoughts on “Tweet Tweet For You.

  1. Welcome to blogland! Am so excited to see you here. Looking forward to more of your creations. Love this card – it’s the distress inking round the edge that really makes it stand out. Beautiful stuff! Xx

    Like

  2. Welcome to Blogland Niki! I only started mine a few months ago, so I know it can feel like a big step! Love this card, those tropical colours are gorgeous. And I love the way you used the Lawn Fawn dies to create some interest behind the panel. Adorable!

    Like

  3. Just clicked through to your blog and.loving the simple text and photo technique tutes! Well done and thank you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

